When a Matillion ETL user deletes an Orchestration Job or a Transformation Job, the job is moved to the Recycle Bin rather than being removed completely. You can access the Recycle Bin from the Project menu to restore or "Delete Forever" (permanently delete) any jobs it contains.
You can delete a job from a project by either of the following methods:
- Click on the job in the project panel on the left of the screen, and press the DEL or DELETE key on your keyboard.
- Right-click on the job in the project panel on the left of the screen, and then click Delete.
You will be asked for confirmation before any job is deleted.
You can also use either of these methods on a folder in the project panel, which will delete the entire folder and all of the jobs and sub-folders it contains.
When a Matillion ETL job is deleted from a project, it is placed in the Matillion ETL Recycle Bin. From the Recycle Bin you can restore the job or "Delete Forever".
Viewing jobs in the Recycle Bin
1. Click Project → Recycle Bin.
This opens the Recycle Bin dialog, which shows all deleted jobs. The jobs are organised under the same folder structure they had in the project panel, so you may need to expand the folder structure to see the job you want. Each job has a timestamp in the Recycle Time column, which shows the time and date of deletion.
If you have a large number of jobs in the Recycle Bin, you can use the search box at the top of the dialog to locate a particular job. Begin typing the name of the job you want, and the list will be filtered to show only jobs that match what you type. This will locate jobs wherever they are in the folder structure, but you can't search for a folder name by this method.
You can also sort the jobs in the Recycle Bin dialog by hovering over the Name or Recycle Time column headings and clicking the arrow that appears when you do so. This will give you a menu that allows you to sort on the chosen column in either ascending or descending order.
It is possible for the Recycle Bin to contain two or more jobs with the same name. If you delete a job from the project panel, then create a new job with the same name and delete that also, both will appear in the Recycle Bin with the same name. The only way to differentiate them is with the Recycle Time timestamp.
Restoring a deleted job
1. Open the Recycle Bin dialog and locate the job you want to restore, as described in Viewing jobs in the Recycle Bin.
2. Right-click the job, then click Restore.
3. Click Confirm when prompted.
The restored job will be moved to the project panel, in its appropriate place in the folder structure. If the original folder that held the job no longer exists then a folder—or if necessary an entire tree of folders—will be created to contain it.
You can also restore an entire folder. Everything under the selected folder, including sub-folders, will be restored.
A deleted job cannot be restored if a new job with the same name has been created. You would have to first use CTRL + M on the new job to rename it, and then restore the old job.
Deleting a job forever
Deleting a job that is already in the Recycle Bin will make that job irretrievable. Only perform this action if are sure that you will never want to restore the job.
1. Open the Recycle Bin dialog and locate the job you want to delete forever, as described in Viewing jobs in the Recycle Bin.
2. Right-click the job, then click Delete Forever.
Alternatively, click on the job, and press the DEL or DELETE key on your keyboard.
3. Click Confirm when prompted, remembering that you can never recover the job after this step.
You can also Delete Forever an entire folder. Everything under the selected folder, including sub-folders, will be deleted forever.
If you require assistance using the Recycle Bin, please visit our Getting Support page.